Legacy

Everyone leaves something behind.

History’s greats have left behind monuments larger than life,

Symbols of their greatness that have stood the test of time.

Others leave behind ideas,

Far more advanced than those of their day.

Thoughts so profound that centuries later they are still in our minds.

 

This is the kind of mark I want to leave behind.

But I want more than an empire,

I want to create a whole new world.

One that is an escape into my imagination,

Yet is still anchored to our own reality.

 

The gateway to my world will be the pages of a novel.

A novel that is impactful to future generations,

As impactful as my favorite stories and authors have been on me.

I’ve read countless books and each has been a new adventure.

Each a unique and unfamiliar world

That feels like home by the end of the long journey.

 

I have connected to a great many characters.

With their words, authors have created lifeㅡ

Three-dimensional beings living within the books’ pages.

Beings that have personalities that make them relatable,

Making them friends and guides.

 

Writing such a novel would mean fulfilling my life’s purpose;

There is nothing else I want more.

 

And when my novel is complete,

Someone will happen upon it and love it as I do.

Finding a home in its pages,

And friends in its characters.

 

This is what I want to leave behind

This will be my legacy.

Leave a comment