Lowering Your Carbon Emissions

The other day I took a Buzzfeed quiz to estimate the size of my carbon footprint and I was surprised to find out that it is fairly large. I’m aware of the problems our carbon footprints can cause and I liked to think that I was doing fairly well with keeping mine a reasonable size, but as I was taking the quiz I thought, Oh no, this is very bad. So, because it’s Earth Day and because the quiz brought to my attention how large my footprint is and how simple it would be to decrease it, I’ve decided to share some tips on how to decrease your carbon footprint.

  • Avoid personalized motor vehicles. Instead, opt for walking, riding a bike, or public transportation.
  • Turn off lights (when they’re not in use obviously). When you are using them, be sure to use compact fluorescent or LED lightbulbs instead of incandescent ones.
  • Mind your thermostat settings. Make sure not to set it to high or too low and to turn it off when you’re not home.
  • Watch what you eat. Avoid beef and dairy (especially from areas such as Brazil where cows graze on formerly forested areas cleared for agriculture) because it takes a lot of resources to raise cows. Also, purchase locally grown, organic food to reduce fossil fuel emissions from transporting the goods and from certain fertilizers.
  • Recycle! Reusing and recycling reduces the need for the “provision of goods” resource extraction, manufacturing, transportation, and disposal of consumer goods which accounts for an estimated 29% of U.S. greenhouse gas emissions.

These are just some tips that I thought would be easiest to fit into my lifestyle, but for more click here.

One comment

Leave a Reply

