January 31, 2017: The ONLY January 31, 2017 You Will Ever Have

When I was a freshman, a few of my teachers liked to taunt us with a reminder of how fast time was passing. They’d say something like: “Today is January 31, 2017, the only January 31, 2017 that you will ever have and it’s already halfway over.” Upon hearing this, we’d think of our rapidly approaching test dates and groan; however, for me anyway, there was always a hint of regret in the groan, underneath all of the exam protest. I regretted having wasted another day, the only of that date that I’d ever get. 

Then, just two days ago, I realized that it was January 29 and that the first month of 2017 had already gone by so quickly. When I announced my realization, my mom made fun of me saying: “Once you realize how fast time passes, it means you’re old.” I’d embraced the fact that I was an old woman long ago, but I had yet to accept that time goes on and there’s nothing I can do to stop it. I’ve accepted it now, even decided that I’d celebrate it and make the most of every day. To celebrate the inevitable, I wil share a poem about the passage of time at the end of every month. This month’s poem, one that’s short and sweet, is Time Is by Henry Van Dyke.

Time Is – by Henry Van Dyke

Time is

Too Slow for those who Wait,

Too Swift for those who Fear,

Too Long for those who Grieve,

Too Short for those who Rejoice;

But for those who Love,

Time is not.

Leave a Reply

