Rainy Day

You’re probably wondering why I posted a picture of feet, and while I know it’s strange, there is a story behind it. As some of you may know, I recently became a staff writer for my school newspaper The Harbinger,  and as I’m sure you all know, journalists are very busy. On this particular Thursday  (yes, I’m quite late with this update, I know) I was very busy running errands, and the weather was not at all on my side. The rain was coming down in heavy sheets and even under the cover provided by the building my top half got sprayed with water, however, my bottom half was worse. As you can see from the photo there is a little pool (the shallowest in the area, it was much deeper further along the path I walked) of water beneath the feet – which belong to myself (left) and Robyn Forbes (right) by the way – and our pants are wet up to the shins. There was enough water in our shoes to fill an aquarium and although it’s not shown, our thighs got pretty wet too.

Though this was towards the end of the day, there was still a bit of the school day left, and I stay after school for hours before going home. This meant that I had to spend another two hours and then some in uncomfortable wet denim, and shoes that squished and squeaked with every step. As I walked out of the building when I was finally able to go home, I was very upset to see this scene:

wp-image-1197396485jpg.jpg

Now, don’t get me wrong, I was glad I wouldn’t have to wade in a river again, I was upset because after two hours the area outside had dried up . . . but my pants still hadn’t.

Leave a Reply

